Current Issue Flipbook

Trade Journals for the Concrete Industry

Current Issue Archive Online Flipbooks CPI Middle East CPI TV Events Buyers' Guide Newsletter Advertising Subscription

Specification of Parameters According to Durability and Fire Safety Standards

Performance of Concrete Structures


Building durability analysis has been increasingly prominent in the Brazilian scenario, especially after ABNT NBR 15575: 2013 (Brazilian Performance Standard) became effective. Divided into six sections, this standard is essentially intended for verification and applicability purposes in terms of structural safety, livability and durability of construction materials and systems used in the Brazilian’s construction industry. Therefore, the standard provides three performance levels to be achieved by systems: minimum, intermediate and higher, each classifying the quality level of materials and processes used in the building construction. Regarding structural system durability, the standard specifies that structures must meet a given design service life (SL) depending on the desired level of performance, where 50, 63, and 75 years are the minimum, intermediate, and higher levels, respectively. In addition to such durability requirement, partially elaborated on by ABNT NBR 6118:2014 (Designing concrete structures) and ABNT NBR 8681:2003 (Actions and structure safety), the Brazilian performance standard (ABNT NBR 15575: 2013) elucidates minimum safety requirements of structural systems, especially concerning elements in fire situation, guided mainly by ABNT NBR 14432:2001 (Fire-resistance requirements for construction elements in buildings) and ABNT NBR 15200:2012 (Designing concrete structures in a fire situation).

Show article
Download article


CPi worldwide journals are trade journals for the concrete and precast concrete industry that are published in 10 different language editions in more than 170 countries. These trade journals, with their practical editorial reporting on research, production and applications, are specifically addressing the decision makers of the concrete and precast concrete industry.

About us
ad-media GmbH

Industriestrasse 180
50999 Cologne

T: + 49 2236 96 23 90
F: + 49 2236 96 23 96

  • Magazine
  • CPi-tv
  • Events
  • Buyers' Guide
  • Newsletter
  • Advertising
  • Patents
  • ad-media GmbH
  • Linkedin
  • Imprint
  • Data Protection
We are using Cookies on www.cpi-worldwide.com. Some of them are essential, while others help us improve this website and your experience. More information can be found in our privacy policy. Accept all Extended Configuration
Cookies of this category are required for the basic functions of the website. They are used for safe and proper use and therefore cannot be deactivated.
Cookies of this category allow us to analyze (Google Analytics) the use of the website and measure performance. They also help us to provide useful functions.
Cookies of this category allow us to show third-party content (social networks, videos)
Save settings and close Accept all